April Favourites

2019 is flying by!

It’s already the end of April which means Summer (if you’re in the Northern Hemisphere) is right around the corner. The UK teased us with some sunshine over the Bank Holiday weekend, making us think it was safe to pull out the summer wardrobe. However, now it’s back to 10 degrees and I’m wondering where my winter coat is.

But back to products and what I have been loving this month…

Colab Dry Shampoo. I have been a dedicated user of Batiste for over 10 years. I’ve dabbled in drugstore own brands and occasionally purchased a Klorane or Ouai but have always returned to Batiste. I use dry shampoo every other day, so I find it difficult to justify purchasing more high-end. I’ve been following Ruth Crilly (aka @modelrecommends) for a while and she is a co-founder of the brand so when I was recently in Superdrug I picked up a can of the original Colab. WELL, Batiste step aside. For pretty much the same price, I can avoid the white/ashy powder that I occasionally get and have hair that smells like an expensive perfume (uncannily like Paul Smith Rose). Apart from the product itself, I like the fact that it’s a smaller brand, founded by industry experts.

Chanel Soleil Tan de Chanel Bronzing Makeup base. I saw Estee Lalonde use this in her no makeup makeup tutorial (they don’t call them influencers for nothing!) and it gave a beautiful all over colour and glow. This is definitely more of a luxury purchase (Β£40) and some people might use this at the end of their makeup routine for bronzing or contouring. However in theory, it goes on as a base after moisturiser/primer before anything else to lift the skin. Personally I wouldn’t use this outside of April-September as I think it could look dark and I would be curious to see how it works on darker skin tones. It’s a solid cream consistency and I use a powder brush to swirl it in- BE WARNED, a little goes a long way so start slowly. Then I work it in a ‘3 shape’ down each side of the face- forehead, cheek bone, jaw as well as down the bridge of the nose, neck and decollete if necessary. Estee also put in on her eyelids which I like. I’m a fan of using cheek colour on eyelids to balance and lift the face. I think this pot will take me through summer but let’s see.

Beauty Pie Ultralight UVA/UVB SPF25. I have used this A LOT this month particularly with the sunnier days and have definitely talked about it on the blog before. I went to Budapest for Easter weekend and I knew the weather was going to be nice but only had hand luggage. I used this all over my face as a day moisturiser (hyaluronic acid and liquorice extract is in the formula) and arms while out walking around. We went to the Gellert Thermal Baths and sitting outside in a bikini, I didn’t want to get caught out so I just put this on all over and it was perfect. Packaging is compact so doesn’t take up space or weight, and it applies white to sheer. Will definitely repurchase!

Vita Liberata Invisi Foaming Tan Water (90% organic). I bought this a few months ago when Boots had 25% off Vita Liberata. This is the first product from the brand I’ve bought and had heard a lot of good things (apparently the beauty blur is amazing). Despite it being Light-Medium, I would say it’s quite dark so be careful around hands and ankles (where I messed up the first time). Something I have discovered is applying fake tan in the morning (insert screaming emoji face here). I know, I also was extremely sceptical but it works better for me. When I go to bed with fake tan I feel like it’s sticking to certain areas and so I saw someone else put it on in the morning and it works for me! It smells a bit biscuity so I would be curious to know how another ‘tanning waters’ compare such as St Tropez or Isle of Paradise.

Crabtree & Evelyn Citron Honey & Coriander. This has lasted me ages and it’s finally bitten the dust. Scent for me is EVERYTHING and it makes me really nostalgic. This smell is divine if you like a fresh scent and it reminds of when my mum visited me in Australia. This fragrance still exists in Crabtree but I feel like they’ve changed the formula (I smelled it yesterday)- looking at the packaging it doesn’t mention honey anymore so maybe that’s it. It’s a lovely texture and not greasy and it’s been on my bedside table for a good 9 months so if you’re only using once a day, it’ll last.

And those are my favourites…thanks for reading!

 

Leave a comment